A Voice in the Shadowlands

Taking a Second Glance

I’ll admit it. I’m weird.  I have gotten used to the fact that I have a unique way of appreciating life. It leads to meeting a weird and wonderful group of people in many aspects of life but when it comes to the religious life, you tend to find yourself on the outs. Still that usually doesn’t bother me. In fact, I feel like it leads to me having a very individual and interesting way at looking at an area of life that often gets excused as either confusing or boring. Confusing? Oh yes. Boring…not if treated properly.

I’ve written before about my questions for stories that are hinted at in the Bible but not addressed and my ponderings on Imago Dei. Perhaps you are aware that I’m dabbling in writing a play that had been poking at me for a while. I’m in a bit of a stall at the moment with it, but I have an idea for where it’s going. Some folks that know about it are amused, some are just baffled. It’s my attempt to make the Bible a bit more accessible to people like me. I believe it’s the overflow from a lifetime of reading odd things and watching too much TV (I am, after all, the only person I know who associates Elijah’s showdown on Mount Carmel with a good old fashioned Western). In a sentence, it’s an attempt to present every book in the Old Testament in the manner of The Complete Works of Shakespeare, Abridged. Fun, but frustrating and I’m not sure if that’s natural or not (this is my first large scale drama venture.

The last week or so I’ve been wondering exactly how worthwhile the endeavor is. Is it for too much of a niche market? Have I danced around the line of sacrilege so closely that I’ve finally crossed it? If I do finally finish it, would anyone come to see it? Am I too weird?

I was comforted this week when I ran across a website called Word. Word is an artists attempt to combine his love of design and the Bible coming up with some amazing designs for passages from different books, or the books themselves. He also has reflections for each work. It has made me happy to find someone who appreciates the subtle humor that lies in a pair of she-bears mauling young men who are joking a bald prophet.

It makes me feel better to know that I’m not the only oddball who reads the Bible the way I do. It gives me a bit of a push that maybe I’m not too far off for writing this play (or for wanting to attempt the other stories that are crammed up in my noggin).

So, I think about the Bible in a non-conventional way. I’m all right with that. If nothing else, I can explain it to myself in a way I understand.

-Pax

One response

  1. susan

    Your perspective is great. Your posts are generating many discussions that may not have taken place if your “unique view” had not be accessible for readers.

    When the 70’s Good News For Modern Man came out many ran to it as the language was clearer for those that could not grasp the older phrasing of the St. James version of the Bible.

    You are not attempting a language change (GNFMM has some issues – okay, man issues). That is good.

    You ARE providing a more understandable look at what the Word says and offers. In addition, you are pointing out that doubts or questioning is NOT a bad thing, it’s actually a Faith builder – many held(hold) the belief that to question the Word is wrong. You are providing the Truth of God’s offer of Grace, or Free Will.

    Have faith in yourself as well. You are, after all, created by God, in His image, as you so eloquently pointed out in an earlier post.

    26 September 2010 at 8:10 am

Leave a Reply

